Cooking with Wine

April 28, 2011

An animated film I made in super-8 when I was in high school. Nothing to do with cooking.

2 Responses to “Cooking with Wine”

  1. stinky Says:

    That was one cRaZy story – wow. You did a fantastic job with this film shooting and editing Super 8.

    Now 10 questions:

    What year?
    Did you shoot from a script?
    Did Lucas’s R2D2 influence your choice of main character?
    Why did the storyline make him die a horribly violent death?
    So then you realize there is now NO chance of sequel$ ?
    Was shooting POV on the table top difficult?
    What equipment did you use?
    WTF ?? with the Campbell Soup cans doing a MGM-style showtune ??
    Was it a “magic moment” shooting those scenes?
    How long did it take to edit?

    Respectfully – stink


    • Such a lot of questions.

      1. 1972, I think.
      2. I wrote a script that was more like a treatment than a shooting script. I know I still have it but I can’t find it. I’m pretty sure I didn’t do a storyboard but I must have had a shot list or something.
      3. See #1.
      4. Die? He just got “smashed”.
      5. There’s always prequels and remakes.
      6. Yes. The POV looking up at the “drink me” bottle had to be faked by holding the bottle in one hand while shooting it with the camera in the other hand.
      7. At the time I owned a Canon 518 super-8 camera but I see from the specs that it didn’t have single frame capacity so I’m not sure what camera I used to do the animation. Later on I had the more sophisticated Canon 814E with variable shutter and single frame and other cool stuff. I lit with photo flood bulbs. I knew nothing about lighting at the time and it shows.
      8. Why the pink soup cans? I dunno. What else would an egg see in drunken hallucinations? Yes, Busby Berkeley musicals of the 30s were an influence. Maybe the the “Pink Elephants on Parade” sequence from Dumbo too (not sure I’d seen it yet). I remember that hand drawing the soup can labels took forever.
      9. It was all fun to shoot.
      10. Can’t remember. Dude, it was 40 years ago.


Leave a Reply

