Noo toons

October 9, 2010

Just to prove that my musical taste didn’t ossify circa the disco era, here’s actual new music that I’ve been listening to lately:

Jay Brannan: Good Mother

Jay Brannan first caught my attention in John Cameron Mitchell’s film Shortbus. I just bought his latest CD In Living Cover which is mostly covers plus two originals. His stripped down version of Jann Arden’s “Good Mother” is my favourite cover of this song – maybe even as good as Jann’s original (which I love).

Perfume Genius: Learning

I heard this song performed live on Q on CBC Radio 1 on Friday and was blown away by the voice and raw emotion. Perfume Genius is Seattle musician Mike Hadreas. I may have to buy his debut CD Learning, though I think I may prefer the four live videos on YouTube to the album cuts which all seem to be drowning in reverb and other audio effects.

Okay, it’s not all new music. I saw Xavier Dolan’s stylish new film Les amours imaginaires (they’ve given it the prosaic title Heartbeats in English) at the EIFF a couple of weeks ago and now I adore Dalida’s over-the-top version of Sonny and Cher’s “Bang Bang” which is used a few times in the film. It’s also the soundtrack for the trailer:

here’s the full song:

Dalida: Bang Bang

Odds are you’ve never heard of Dalida. Seems she sold millions of records just about everywhere except English speaking countries. Very briefly: Born 1933 in Egypt to Italian parents. Miss Egypt 1954. Moved to Paris 1955 to pursue a screen career. Signed to a record contract by Eddy Barclay. Made movies in France, Italy, Egypt. Had many failed marriages and suicide attempts. Reinvented herself several times. OD’d on barbiturates in 1987, apparent suicide at age 54. Check out her full bio at All Music or one of the many websites devoted to her. I have one of her French LPs in my collection – Coup de chapeau au passé. One side is ballads, the other is disco.

Incidentally, I highly recommend Les amours imaginaires though I hear it’s not as adventurous as Dolan’s début film J’ai tué ma mère (I Killed My Mother), which I’ve yet to see.

One Response to “Noo toons”


  1. I was listening to the same CBC program as you were and I agree. All of the music that you’ve posted here is very beautiful and very sad. I love it all.
    Thanks.


Leave a Reply

