My name is Mike and I’m a Wordsmith addict

June 5, 2010

Wordsmith is an online game similar to Boggle, but invented by the devil. That must be why I get a score of 666 more often than is statistically likely. You form words of three to seven letters by clicking on Scrabble-like tiles. The game only allows words that are in its dictionary. I’m not sure what dictionary they’re using, but some of the words it allows make my Scrabble playing friends apoplectic. Here are some of the more questionable words I’ve played (none of which are recognized by WordPress’ spellchecker):

woodine
rivery
cloof
tiffle
lakey
daggles
baldier
mopsy
smittle
clarina
bloob
frawn
coggle
sammer
groof
squeege
tekkie
twaddy
runch
samely
toadier
halfly
bazoo

On the other hand, it didn’t allow these words I tried to play that I think are perfectly lovely:

hotsy
pissy
poopsy

Here are some excellent words I’ve played that were worth mega points:

subtext
kinkily
caliber
turbans
sylph
fracas
gerbera
hubris
popery
maltose
coronet
spinnet
anagram
satires
melody
cupola
helix
codeine
vinyl
sassily
quarrier
forager

I’m not going to provide a link. If you want to waste your life on this addictive game, you’re on your own.

Leave a Reply

