Won’t you take me to Funkytown?

May 24, 2010

Today for a Victoria Day treat, I went to a matinee with a friend. It was The Trotsky, a movie that doesn’t water-down or explain its Canadian cultural references for an international audience (like dissing Ben Mulroney – right to his face). It was set in Montreal and I wish I could have seen it with my nieces so they could say “yup, that’s what it looks like alright.”

Before the feature, they ran this trailer:

I was excited because 1. I love the nightlife 2. I got to boogie, and 3. last year I heard a fascinating radio documentary (also called Funkytown) about Montreal’s disco days, and thought the subject would make an excellent movie.

It’s a fiction film but apparently based on real Montreal personalities and clubs in the peak years of Montreal’s disco craze to its decline, 1976-1978.

I’m looking forward to this (another movie I’d like to see with my nieces). Hope it doesn’t suck.

Here’s that documentary (get comfy – it’s 54 minutes long).

One Response to “Won’t you take me to Funkytown?”

  1. Keriann Says:

    Hey, this is the movie that Jay and I saw some of the filming of when we were in Montreal last year!


Leave a Reply

