Tastes like freedom

April 1, 2010

I finished a contract yesterday and for now I’m enjoying unemployment. I slept in, did some chores (a long overdue car wash among them) then hung out at a café (Jojo’s) reading the weeklies.

Manhattan clam chowder full of chunky vegetables & a panino of Parma ham and double smoked Cheddar followed by

a blueberry pecan cinnamon bun and an Americano. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m overdue for my afternoon nap.

5 Responses to “Tastes like freedom”

  1. stinky Says:

    I like your style – silly and serious, quirky and quaint, nostalgic and notable.
    Well done, friend.

    I found your blog through a link chase via Birmingham (AL) Rewound.

    Your corner of the world seems interesting. I visited the city on business last September for the first time and just KNEW in my heart there was more to life there besides the mall. Everybody was so damn proud of the mall. HA!

    Keep up the good work.

    • swankola Says:

      Thank you for the kind words, stinky.

      Mall?

      • stinky Says:

        Edmonton, Alberta, Canada is your home base, right?

        During my week’s trip last fall, multiple conversations went: How long are you here for? Do you have some free time? You should see the mall?

        The West Edmonton (God’s Special Gift To The Canadian World) Mall.

        If I was invited once, I was invited two dozen times to check out this eighth wonder. It got to be a running gag/joke.

        The mall is THE LAST PLACE I want to find myself. Except if there ever was a never-ever-before-need for a purchase from Sunglass Hut. I would be more at home browsing the off

        My apologies if I have mistaken you locale. But the interest in you blog STILL stands.

        Keep up the interesting reports and pictures.

        stinky

        P.S. I like your album artwork a lot.

        • swankola Says:

          I knew which mall. I would never subject out-of-towners to the mall but that’s where they seem to want to go. I have been WEM-free for 310 days (my sister had a pass to see “Up” last year).


  2. Blimey, that food looks awesome! Sounds like an idyllic day!


Leave a Reply

