The Culling XVI

March 29, 2009

I haven’t made a lot of progress since my last update more than a month ago – still in the male vocalists. Just finished listening to almost 20 Barry White albums (including Love Unlimited and Love Unlimited Orchestra which I’ve lumped all together).

white_cantgetenough

I have to say, it was like listening to the same record 20 times over. However, it’s a pretty good record so I’m not complaining.

white_justanother

When Barry gets in a groove he really gets in a groove and sticks with it (more than once I had to check to see if the needle was stuck).

white_stonegon

wtf? Barry White on the moon? Venus?

In another one of those crazy juxtapositions my record collection is full of, right after Barry White comes Slim Whitman.

whitman_sings

If he’s remembered at all these days, I think it’s mostly for his K-tel type compilations that he used to flog on late night television in the early 80s.

whitman_favorites

A pity, because Slim is made of awesome. I love his yodeling, his whistling, and his pure, effortless falsetto. I also love that in Tim Burton’s Mars Attacks*, Slim’s yodeling was the secret weapon that made the Martians’ heads explode. Cruel, but hilarious.

*I seem to be the only person in the world who doesn’t loathe this movie.

cullingxvi

accounting:

adored: 2060
abandoned: 449
aggregate: 2509

3 Responses to “The Culling XVI”

  1. frank Says:

    I believe that’s Barry White on Uranus

    ::crickets::

  2. Julie Says:

    I am so sorry to post this here, but I had read your other website with the cookbooks and you had once mentioned that you wanted these and there is no way on the website to contact you. So if you are still interested, I stumbled upon these on ebay:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/7-Blown-Glass-Swizzle-Sticks—
    With-Miniature-Records_W0QQitemZ200321492362QQcmdZViewItem

  3. slacks ferret Says:

    I quite liked Mars Attacks too. I especially enjoyed that the aliens were acting like 14yr-old teenage boys with their mischievous and lethal curiousity.


Leave a Reply

