The Culling II – It Lives

June 7, 2008

I’m about three weeks into my epic project to listen to all my records and cull the dross. Now Playing: The Troggs. Next up: Vanilla Fudge, The Vogues, The Walker Brothers. All very different and I’m looking forward to hearing them all. Yes, I’m nearing the end of the alphabet but my work has barely begun; this is just the end of the first category. I’m barely past halfway on the top row of records. Here’s a map of my record library so you can follow along:

  1. pop/rock groups
  2. “world”
  3. instrumental, large groups (Mancini, Montenegro, Enoch Light, 101 Strings, Boston Pops, etc)
  4. instrumental, small groups (Martin Denny, Arthur Lyman, Tijuana Brass, etc)
  5. instrumental, by instrument (accordion to zither)
  6. female vocal
  7. male vocal
  8. duets (i.e. two artists with solo careers such as Harry Belafonte and Nana Mouskouri, not duos like Sandler and Young), choral groups (Anita Kerr Singers, The Swingle Singers, etc), barbershop, whistling
  9. soundtracks (movie, stage, tv)
  10. spoken word (documentary, history, interview, literature, instruction), sound effects and ambience, children’s, comedy
  11. this’n’that
  12. 10 inch LPs, 78s
  13. 45s
  14. electronic, experimental
  15. Christmas
  16. folk, country, trucker
  17. jazz
  18. classical

I’m really enjoying hearing all my records again and I’m often moved to read up on artists as I’m listening to them. Here’s an interesting factoid I came across: did you know Spike Lee’s father, Bill, was a bass player who played on records by Ian & Sylvia and Bob Dylan among others?

Box score – Kept: 184. Discarded: 69.

reject pile

3 Responses to “The Culling II – It Lives”

  1. Swapatorium Says:

    I’m impressed with your dedication to this project. When you’re done, I’ll fly you to Houston to finish up my garage. I’ll pay you with records.

  2. sarah Says:

    sounds like a worthwhile undertaking. but what will you do with all the records you get rid of?

  3. swankola Says:

    Back to the thrift store. One I don’t frequent very much so I don’t have to keep looking at them.


Leave a Reply

