We don’t need no stinkin’ chocolate bunnies

April 27, 2008

Yesterday I took my parents to church to have their Easter basket blessed by the priest. The car was filled with the heady and intoxicating aroma of garlic sausage (good thing I love it).

Ukrainian Easter breakfast at my parent’s house is a meal I eagerly anticipate each year.

Some people put candy eggs and chocolate bunnies in their baskets, but my folks are old school and that’s just fine with me. Their basket includes fresh horseradish (the big root on the left), ham, ham sausage, garlic sausage, boiled eggs, Ukrainian Easter eggs decorated by my very talented niece (not for eating, of course), green onions, garlic, cottage cheese and sweet Easter bread (babka).

Butter studded with cloves in the shape of the Orthodox cross.

Another of my niece’s hand decorated eggs. Her detail work and steady hand are amazing.

A relish of pickled beats and fresh horseradish. This is my favourite. Be careful not to get any on your clothes or tablecloth – the red never comes out.

Leave a Reply

