Comfy

March 26, 2008

Yet more comfort food.

Sunday dinner at my folks place, my mom made a turkey and I put a few roasters of veg into the oven at the same time: beets, yams, carrots, fennel, radicchio and savoy cabbage, liberally tossed with olive oil, garlic and fresh herbs. The beets and yams were particularly delicious – a couple of hours of slow roasting made them incredibly sweet and earthy. I went home with lots of leftovers, so yesterday I made a turkey pot pie.

potpie01.jpg

To the chopped up turkey and vegetables I added some green beans I had in the fridge (blanching them first). I sautéd some mushrooms in butter and olive oil, which I used as the base for a white sauce.

potpie03.jpg

I forgot to stir in the rosemary so I just sprinkled it on top, then topped the pot with piecrust.

potpie04.jpg

Out of the oven.

potpie05.jpg

Dessert:

Dirty Old Holes

The recipe is from a wonderfully wonky book called Scrambled Brains, by artist Robin Konstabaris and chef Pierre LeBlanc. It’s sort of a combination of cookbook and graphic novel. I recommend you order it if you want to make dishes like Hell Turds, Nun’s Farts, or a tofu pig’s head.

hole01.jpg

The recipe is simplicity itself: peel and core an apple, fill with Nutella, wrap tightly in pie crust, bake.

hole02.jpg

As it bakes, the Nutella will ooze out (puncture the top or leave an opening in the crust), and you will know how this recipe got its name.

hole03.jpg

Gross but delicious.

dirtyold.jpg

6 Responses to “Comfy”

  1. swapatorium Says:

    Yum! Your food always looks so delicious. I’m going to have to try those dirty old holes.

  2. paperdollsforboys Says:

    That turkey pot pie looks so absolutely delicious. And the, ahem, dessert looks good but I’m not sure I can stomach the name! 🙂 Tracey

  3. Sandra Says:

    Looks delicious Mike! I like Nutella a lot, so I must try the dessert. That recipe book sounds great, too.

  4. elicia Says:

    mmm pie.
    but wot?? no bottom crust??

  5. Meghan Says:

    oooh. I must get that cook book. Looks amazing.

  6. Monica Says:

    Ok I must try this~~~~~


Leave a Reply

