Comfort

January 30, 2008

The temperature’s been hovering around -30º C all week and it’s not warming up anytime soon. To the kitchen – it’s time for old fashioned comfort food!

meatloaf2.jpg

First up: meatloaf. I used beef and pork and added sauted onions, grated carrot, breadcrumbs, chili sauce, parsley, worcestershire sauce, eggs and seasonings.

mac1.jpg

Baked mac & cheese. I started with a a roux of butter and flour, whisked in milk, added seasonings and sharp cheddar cheese.

mac2.jpg

Instead of macaroni, this time I used a spiral pasta called sedani ritorti that has lots of ridges to trap the delicious cheese sauce.

mac3.jpg

Sprinkle with bread crumbs and grated cheese; its ready for the oven.

crumble1.jpg

For dessert, an apple crumble – butter, demerara sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, rolled oats.

crumble3.jpg

I always leave the skins on the apples.

crumble4.jpg

Ready for the oven. Everything bakes together at the same time at 350º F.

cooked.jpg

Voilà (in the upper left corner is a head of garlic that I baked to put into my mashed potatoes later in the week).

supper2.jpg

Supper.

dessert1.jpg

Dessert.

I don’t feel so cold anymore.

2 Responses to “Comfort”

  1. elicia Says:

    i will trade you a beef jerky sandwich on homemade bread for a plate of dinner.

    o
    my
    god

    that looks delicious.

  2. Leilani Says:

    Looks yummy! I love making hearty comfort foods like this too when it’s frigid outside. I didn’t realize other people made their meat loaf with ground pork (it’s something I picked up from my mom).


Leave a Reply

