I’m afraid, Dave

November 4, 2007

I got ambitious this weekend and finally rounded up all my obsolete computers and peripherals (zip drive, printer, two flatbed scanners, etc.) to donate to a place that will find new uses for them instead of just recycling them for component materials.

tower of crap

Here it all is, stacked up in my back porch (the cat carrier is not part of this mountain of crap). The next step is to move everything to the car which will require several trips spread over a few days, and then the final step is to chauffeur this stuff around town for a few weeks until I finally get around to delivering it to its ultimate destination.

powermac 7600

Before packing my old Powermac 7600, I scrubbed the harddrive by reinstalling the operating system it came with back in 1996 (OS 7.5.3). It definitely felt like I was giving it a lobotomy. I expected it to start singing “Daisy, Daisy.” It was my first computer, it was hideously expensive, and it served me well through my community college career and beyond. It’s still in fine working order, unlike my next computer, a secondhand iMac that wiped out a year’s worth of files when it went down (I’ve learned my lesson). I hope someone will get some use out of it.

3 Responses to “I’m afraid, Dave

  1. Tracy Says:

    I used to have a 7600 too. I did a lot of music on it.

  2. Oingo Says:

    Good work to recycle your computer equipment, though you did not “scrub” your hard drive by reinstalling the OS. This article is old but is still applicable.
    http://www.pcworld.com/article/110338/answer_line_wipe_your_drive_clean_of_all_its_sensitive_data.html

  3. Ronn Roxx Says:

    I would have taken that awesome graphite iMac off your hands along with all those cool Apple product boxes!


Leave a Reply

