I.O.D.E. R.I.P.

October 20, 2007

iode.jpg

I discovered today that the tiny IODE thrift store across from the Value Village on Whyte Avenue closed. It didn’t have much stuff and the turnover was really slow, but it was dirt cheap, immaculately kept and the volunteers were really friendly. My favorite memory of this place: One time I found an uncharacteristic donation of prog rock LPs (Focus, Gentle Giant, etc.). As I was flipping through the stack of records, the elderly lady at the till excitedly told me “There’s a Jethro Tull in there!”

2 Responses to “I.O.D.E. R.I.P.”


  1. It’s always sad when a thrift store dies — I even mourn the bad ones, because more often than not I did have “that one good score that one time” that endears it forever.

  2. Meghan Says:

    I just went home to Omaha and was SUPER SAD to find my favorite thrift had closed too. SNIFF!


Leave a Reply

