Weekend Rummage Roundup

April 23, 2007

Last week my friend Elaun invited me to a rummage sale at the seniors association where she works. I was delighted to go because seniors have the best stuff! Just look at this:

big fish

It’s a stuffed fish on a plaque for a buck!!! That’s insane! I didn’t buy it cuz it’s too fug, but if it was something I wanted I would have been over the moon. Instead I bought these Hawaiian swizzle sticks for a quarter:

swizzle sticks

Then we went to one of my favorite annual church basement rummage sales. The food here is one of the big attractions for me. They make smokies and European weiners with optional fried onions, the divine aroma of which assaults you the moment you enter. I always have to have one loaded with condiments including fried AND raw onions (I’m sorry I didn’t think to take a picture). I always like it best when the church ladies make the food themselves and don’t just sell donuts from Tim Horton’s.

rummage sale

I bought a couple of tiki items, 4 records, an Australian party cake book (with cakes shaped like playtipuses and other down-under critters) and a child’s book of magic. In all I spent maybe 6 bucks, not counting the food.

white elephant

Rummage sales are the best! I’ve had much more success finding stuff at rummages sales than at garage sales which just seem to be a waste of time and gas lately. It’s also less intimidating to poke around in the detritus of someone’s life when they’re not right there watching you.

bowling trophies

3 Responses to “Weekend Rummage Roundup”

  1. thriftygirl Says:

    I wholeheartedly agree. Garage sales in the suburbs of Toronto are getting worse and worse. I blame eBay. Now most people look up their “junk” online before selling it and all that’s left in the driveway really is worthless tat. I love the swizzle sticks – fun and still boxed! I also have a special place in my heart for home-baked goodies sold in church basements… ahhhh.

  2. Rev. Josh Says:

    Dang. I need to get me a zombie fish here one of these days.


  3. […] you remember that last year at this sale I passed up buying a mounted fish for a […]


Leave a Reply

