Found Sound Friday – No. 2

July 22, 2011

Two sides of a Soundcraft Audition 78 rpm recording blank. This is how people sent audio letters before cassettes were invented. This would have been recorded using a portable record cutting machine similar to this one (on the Sound Preservation Association of Tasmania website).

Side 1

Labeled simply “Message.” The “Sahara Desert” mentioned by the woman is probably the long-gone Sahara Dining Lounge in Edmonton.

Side 2

Labeled “Eleanor at about 9 years of age & Ivy tap dance.” I’m a big fan of tap dance on record.

.

One Response to “Found Sound Friday – No. 2”

  1. Linda Says:

    That message took me down memory lane. My family also used to send audio letters, but on tape cassettes of course :-)

    I have been searching your blog for a contact email, but can’t seem to find one. I would appreciate if you got back to me either via my blog or my email.
    Thanks, Linda


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

